Why I Write Multiple Blogs

By William Kristoph

I read a few articles yesterday about why writers shouldn’t bother with multiple blogs. Basically, the arguments involved either the author thinking that her readers are stupid and can’t handle more than one topic on a blog or that multiple blogs are a waste of time. I couldn’t disagree more.

First of all, I don’t think that my readers are incapable of handling multiple topics. While Kristoph’s K-Time is a lot of food and a lot of Tallahassee, it’s other things too. I see plenty of spikes and dips in my visits based on what I write there, but it doesn’t direct me to one topic or another. I write what I like to write there. I trust that reader knows that it’s my personal blog and the topics will vary.

Why would I take a fictional fantasy football team or fantasy baseball team website and integrate into K-Time? I wouldn’t and I don’t. I write my New Canaan Chrebets and Mianus Mookies sites for fun, for the few buddies I have in those fantasy leagues and for an outlet for fiction. Contrary to what I read yesterday, I didn’t bifurcate these blogs because I think the reader is stupid and can’t figure out a fictional post from non-fiction. I did it because it’s easy and keeps my mind straight when I write.

The same idea goes for my photos and my quotes website. Could I cram it into K-Time? Sure. Would readers understand it? Yes. But, I want to keep my photos and quotes separate. I like the cleanliness of it for me. I also like the fact that those particular sites aren’t self-hosted. My favorites are saved off in “the cloud” where I don’t have to worry about them too much.

I never intentionally insult my readers’ intelligence. I know they can understand what I write. I know they might like some of my other sites if they were integrated into K-Time. I also know what is a clean 5-day-per-week presentation would become cluttered and confusing to me if I jammed every post in there. Multiple blogs are not silly or  a waste of time or an insult when used properly. They are a way to focus work and free up creativity.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment